
My idiot friend Lacy* is not going to be a friend anymore. I'm putting her in my "aquaintances" file. I do not want to be associated with this type of person. I got invited to a BBQ at an agent (at a pretty big agency)'s house. That's huge. When you meet industry people in private settings like BBQ's instead of parties where they're paid to appear they are more receptive to forming a business friendship with a new actor. And as you all know, it's all about who you know in Hollywood.
Well guess what? Lacy noncholantly asked the agent, "Why is it that me, Sarah and your roommate are the only people here who aren't black?" My jaw dropped to the ground. When he left I told her, "You can't ask those kinds of questions." She said, "oh, I don't give a fuck. I say what I want."
I told her, "You can say what you want elsewhere but not when you're my plus one on my invite at a place where I'm trying to make a good impression on some industry contacts." I mean, would you seriously throw your friend under the bus like that? That's selfish and inconsiderate. And she's an idiot if she doesn't recognize what she's doing.
"Guilty by association" is a term that applies here. I don't want to be associated with that type of intelligence level. And if she doesn't care about anyone more then herself it's not going to work. This is the icing on the cake. There have been a zillion other incidents.
Sigh. Back to not having any close female friends here in Hollywood. But no friend is better then one that shuts my doors before I even get to them. The industry is hard enough without someone who can't support me. I miss having best female friends who are non idiots :(

No comments:
Post a Comment